Deaf Art Fest

Yes Deaf Art Festival was this weekend! I was one of the artist.

Wait, what? You’re Deaf?

Yes I am Deaf. It’s part of who I am.

Do I need to talk louder to you?

No not really.

There’s tons of myths about being Deaf and what not but I’m not going to into detail of it all. I’ll do another post about that one day but this one is going to focus on my adventure of the Deaf Art Fest!

Saturday Morning
I ended up getting ready and packing up to head out. I thought about going to visit my father’s grave since it was his anniversary of his death but sadly I ran out of time and just gave him a wave from up above. I’m pretty sure he understood!

The Deaf Art Fest was located in the city of Chicago. Of course I’m not a fan driving into Chicago but it wasn’t downtown Chicago area. Thank goodness. I headed towards the expressway and it was stop and go for a bit and construction. Normal right? Until I got off my exit to turn and it was stop and go the entire time going to the destination. By the time I got to the place, I barely made it on time. I found out there was a Cubs baseball game at Wrigley Field which wasn’t far from Ravenswood.

After getting set up, I made a few sales here and there but was kind of quiet due to baseball game and other events going on. I was glad to be there. I got to mingle with old and new friends. I had a wonderful time. The event was 11 am to 6 pm. I did meet a guy who mentioned of libraries and a fantasy author, Ursula K Le Guin, whom I am going to check out. I met a grandmother and her granddaughter who were checking out Deaf artist. The grandmother was learning ASL for her granddaughter which was thought that was amazing thing to do. Family is important! I also learned that the grandmother herself was an artist for her culture – Puerto Rico. I loved learning about this. They had such an amazing relationship. You never know who you meet in life and leaves an impression on you.

Day 1 of Deaf Art Fest at Ravenswood - Chicago, IL

Day 1 of Deaf Art Fest at Ravenswood – Chicago, IL

My good friend was there and we got to catch up and chat. We headed out to dinner at a Spanish Tapas restaurant after our stuff was locked up. Neither one of us had been to this restaurant so it was an adventure! We walked towards the place and chatted on and off. The one thing about when I’m in Chicago is that I walk quite a bit. I love it. The food was an adventure. We both liked it and thought it was cozy place to be. The restaurant was called Bulerias Tapas Bar. We were there for a while because we talked about our family, our lives, our goals, food, movies and so on. After we had dinner, it was time for us to walk back to our cars. Of course we went to my car first and then I made sure my friend was safe too. Of course where I parked was not the best place because there was an awful, rotting smell near by which almost made me puke. (Just thinking about it is making me sick. It didn’t help that there was a dead bunny near by…that may have been it!)

It was time to go home and rest up. Going home was a breeze, but I’m not a fan of driving at night. I knew where I was going though. Right before I entered my house, I glanced up at the sky and a sky full of stars, I loved seeing that. It made me thankful for a great day and night. Shoes off, lock up, a drink, quick hot shower and I was ready to curled up to read a book. Well I read about two pages and then crashed! Yup I was tired.

PS: My friend knew that I liked to collect old cameras (just started this hobby but I’m on a budget) and managed to find one for me. It was such a nice thought of my friend. Thank you!!

Sunday Morning

I hit the snooze button two times then I finally got up. I had a dream about the Property Brothers again. This time around we were trying to redo a house and I met their family and something about Halloween. The dream before that was I was with them helping them with a house but we were in a land of magic and myth. Water and rocks flying — what?? Picture this: If you stepped on a rock, it would go down and water would flood or grass would grow really tall. I did watch “Enchanted” Friday night, wonder if that had something to do with it? Anyways, I didn’t have to pack much because everything was at the destination. I got dressed. I figured it was going to be chilly (then again the weather is always changing, mother nature has a mind of its own!) I wore a green sweater like jacket with my black/silver tank top style with jeans and my snazzy blue sandal/wedge heels. I also made a hot cup of coffee to battle this cold I”m fighting. Into the car was next as the sun was shining, off I went. I did stop at Starbucks. Yes I gave into more coffee (Caramel Latte) and got my friend one Pumpkin Latte) too!

The traffic this time around was so much better and I found a better parking spot! Yay! The set up was open concept so we could move our tables anywhere we liked. I made a few more sales but it wasn’t too bad. Of course I gave my friend the coffee as I got a thanks and yay! It was a blast. I met an older man who has lived from the 1940s on seeing every different kind of aspect of Deaf culture and I was amazed.

Then Justin LeBlanc was going to make an appearance today! I was glad to hear of this. I met Justin before Project Runway and he is such a nice man. What you see on tv about him is exactly like he is in real life. He’s an amazing person!! I’m happy for where the is at in his life and wish him all the best. Follow him on twitter at @JLeBlancDesign. I got a snap shot of him and I together. Thank you Justin!!

Such a blast at this event to get to mingle with all kinds of people and chat about art. I dabble in making jewelry, painting photography and drawing. I love it! I love seeing other art and how people capture those moments.

I had to head home early due to fact of being a mother. That is my first priority. Of course on my way home I get stuck in some traffic due to some events going on such as the Bears game which they lost! Noooooo!!! Yes I’m a Bears fan. So while driving home I saw some motorcycles and thought to myself “Hey I wonder how Keanu Reeves motorcycle company Arch is doing and how his visit to the S&S Cycle went.” Yes I am going to admit I am fan of Keanu Reeves! The man is quite unique and amazing. Have you seen his movies? They rock!! I’m getting off the subject. I thought about all the amazing people I met. It was fun and interesting. You learn about different cultures and how everyone can have differences and similarities at the same time. Fascinating. I hope all the artists that I met will continue to keep making art no matter what. If you love it, keep at it.

Eventually traffic lets up and I get home and snag dinner which was okay. Then back out the door to get my amazing children.

Here are some photographs of what kind of art I do! (Sorry if the photographs look a bit bad and my feet were shown in the last photograph of the drawing!)

 

Drawing of two Birds in Love in a Lanscape..done by ink.  It was SOLD today.

Drawing of two Birds in Love in a Lanscape..done by ink. It was SOLD today.

Leave a Reply

