Three Movie Reviews

EFFIE.jpg

Effie Gray

A look at the scandalous love triangle between Victorian art critic John Ruskin, his teenage bride Effie Gray, and Pre-Raphaelite painter John Everett Millais.

My Take:   This was a long movie but interesting.  It takes place back in time as Effie marries John as the marriage is not the best.   It was a little slow but interesting to see how the times were set up.  I felt bad for Effie of what she was going through.  You could see how women could have been treated back then and fall into depression or worse.   I must say that  the ending was kick ass.  I loved how Effie took charge at the end.

 

EDUCATION

An Education

A coming-of-age story about a teenage girl in 1960s suburban London, and how her life changes with the arrival of a playboy nearly twice her age.

My Take :  Well the cover of the movie caught me and the story.  I thought this would be a cute love story.  Boy I was wrong.  It was geared more towards of a girl teenager and her choices in life during the 1960s.   The costumes were great and the storyline was interesting.   It was a little long in some parts but overall good.

 

EASY

Easy Virtue

A young Englishman marries a glamorous American. When he brings her home to meet the parents, she arrives like a blast from the future – blowing their entrenched British stuffiness out the window.

My Take:   Stunning cover and fun story!  Love the era.  Anyways the story was really good. Jessica Biel plays the American who heads home with her new Englishman husband as the family is in shock.   It’s a warm and cold relationship with the family.  There were some funny parts and the dresses! I love love love the dresses.  I wanted all of Jessica Biel’s outfits in this film.  Even the car and motorcycle was awesome.   Colin Firth is also in this film which I adore.  The man is cool as a cucumber.  There is something about how he plays his character in this film really well.   You’ll like it.   There was one scene where Colin actually dances and I loved it.   Yes I know..I have a thing for dancing.  

If I could rank all these movies…

#1 favorite:  Easy Virtue

#2 favorite:  So Education

#3 favorite:  Effie Gray

So go check  these historical movies out today and tell me what you think of them and see if my favorites match up yours!

Leave a Reply

