You Had Me at Good-Bye – Book Review

you

 

You Had Me at Good-Bye
By Tracey Bateman
275 pages
Publisher: FaithWords

What is this book about:

Everything is on the line for aspiring editorial diva Dancy Ames when she’s fired by her publisher. Could this be the time to risk it all on her writing career–and maybe even love?

Dancy Ames has an enemy: Jack Quinn. The man who swoops in, steals her dream job at Lane Publishing, and fires her, saying she just doesn’t have what it takes to be an editor. Now that she’s unemployed, Dancy must find a new career. Coffee barista, English teacher, literary agent. Hmm. Maybe she’ll write a novel–a nasty invective, featuring a relentless job-stealing, coffee-drinking stalker who falls in love with a coffee barista. She’s got time on her hands, so when her friends dare her to send Jack a proposal, under an assumed name, she takes them up on it. If he likes it, she’ll have her ultimate revenge. But what will she do when it turns out that Jack is interested in her book–and maybe more?

My Take:

The cover jumped out at me!  Most of the books that I pick up, the covers usually catch my eye.  I flipped the book over and read the description of the story.  I thought “Hey this sounds like a cute read.”   I took the book home as it took me about 2-3 days to read with everything else I was doing in life. (Single mom here!!)   The story was fast pace as I liked how the family and friendship dynamics were mentioned.   Dancy is quite an interesting character to read and what journey she goes on.  Jack was a cool guy in this book and he has a secret which made me laugh.  It was a fun book to read.   One thing I will point out is that there is talk of church and God which was fine but that topic does not seem lecture you which is a good thing.   Lots of fun points in this book that was very light hearted. So take a chance to read this little gem!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

