Adventures in Chicago – ALA

Saturday June 24, 2017 I attended the ALA Convention in Chicago!  I started my day in the morning to get ready.   Walking from my home to the train was first thing to do.  Once I arrived at the train station I had to wait.  The train was delayed.  I knew I’d be missing some books and adventures for an hour or so but that was okay.  It was a beautiful day out and I was enjoying this.

When the train arrived, I hopped on and found a seat immediately.   The train of course had to go to each stop.  That was okay with me.  I had my book to read.   (Which reminds me I need to finish it soon!)   I came upon page 105 in the Love Fortunes and Other Disasters where at the bottom of the page made me smile!   I love this book so far.   Check it out when you get a chance.

Once arrived to the city of Chicago, people were out and about.  I decided to cab over to  McCormick Plaza.  Well little did I know that I could have taken a shuttle bus from one of the hotels to the McCormick Plaza for free.   That’s a good reminder for next time.

In the cab I go as the driver was talking to me but I had to tell him that I was deaf and he was totally cool with it.  He made sure that I understood him.  It was a nice ride but it cost $11.00 later!  Yikes.  It was a good experience.  I entered inside McCormick as I had to get my bearings because I was dropped off at a different spot.  I have been to McCormick recently for C2E2 and the place is huge!

Entering inside people walking here and there. All kinds of people from all over were there.  Librarians!!!  Publicists! Book Bloggers and more.  I loved the diversity and cultures that were about.  I managed to find registration upstairs as the line was in a circle!  Around and around I went but the line moved pretty quickly.  I then got my badge and off I went to explore.

I did have a little note of which publishers to check out and to snag a copy of Kerri Maniscalco’s Hunting Prince Dracula.  I do have her first on that I need to read.  Once again my to read pile is huge!

In the past I would snag every single book that was for free but this time around I decided only to take the ones that I was interested in.  I did ask one publisher if they had a copy or so and they did but there were like three or four other books that I was very interested in but I did not ask.  I should have.  I did chat with a few people but I tend to be shy at times.  The publishers were awesome at explaining what the books were about.  I even asked them if they have read it yet!  Some did and some said it was on their list to read.   The publishers that I stopped by at were:  Little Brown, Amulet, Tor, Disney, Sourcebooks, Harper Teen, Blink, Gallery Books, Aladdin, Sterling Children’s Books, Scholastic Press, Little Bee Books, Jolly Fish Press (this is a new one for me!), Del Rey, Delacorte Press, Tor Teen, RP Kids, Simon and Schuster and Flux.

Even though there were books, I did look at the other sources that were about.  Universities were there to obtain a library degree.  I have been on the borderline about going back to school but it so expensive!

Then there were many other amazing things!  Maker space for kids is a huge thing now these days.  It allows children to create and learn differently.  Robots such as Cozmo and Cubelets and even another one that I cannot recall the name of it.  They had magnets and cubes to move.  It was so cool.  I hope future libraries have these for children to use along with books!  Reading is still important.  There were 3D printers!  A company called Lulzbot was so kind to explain how things work with a 3D printer and gave me two fidget spinners!  (I gave them to my kids!)  So cool.  I also saw everbright light board.  It kind of reminds you a light bright (80s thing)  but you could change the color on this!  It was so cool.  Check these two companies out.

I met some librarians while I was there too.  A lady from a local high school near by sat with me and we chatted a bit while we had lunch.  Another lady sat on the shuttle bus going back was from Florida and she was in archive/museum.  I think I even saw my LTA professor too!  I am not sure. Plus I saw some book bloggers in line for Kerri Maniscalco book!  So exciting.  There was another librarian that I chatted from the local area of Illinois.   I wish had my book blog business cards made up again..perhaps next time!

The books that I managed to get are:

Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore
Losing Brave by Madison and Miller
Contribute by Kristy Acevedo
A Taxonomy of Love by Rachael Allen
Skelton Tree by Kim Ventrella
The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street by Lindsay Currie
Sweet Tea and Sympathy by Molly Harper
Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling
The thing with Feathers by McCall Hoyle
The Grave Keepers by Elizabeth Byrne
Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco
Odd and True by Cat Winters
Welcome Home by  various authors
As You Wish by Chelsea Sedoti
First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy
Caleb and Kit by Beth Vrabel
Protected by Claire Zorn
Love Songs and Other Lies by Jessica Pennington
The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

I did get some picture books and youth books as well.

I was getting tired so around 4:45 pm I decided to depart because I had to catch the 5:30 train home. Boy my feet were so sore.  So I grabbed the shuttle bus and then got dropped off near the one hotel and I knew where to go.  So I walked to the train station got on the train and sat there.  I was early but I did not care.  Sitting felt so good.

Arrived an hour later and walked home.  I had to stop and walk on the way home since I was carrying all these books.  I was so tired but I was happy that I went.  I managed to keep in touch with some bloggers on twitter while during the ALA.  I hope to keep doing this.  This was my second time going to ALA.  I have been to the Book Expo once in NYC and I loved that adventure even thought it was so expensive.

Leave a Reply

