Young Adult Fiction Books

Check these books out!  One is related to history as the other is related to every day life.  I think both books would be good to read.

SALT

Salt of the Sea
Ruta Sepetys 
Twitter 
Age Range: 12 and up
Grade Level: 7 – 9
Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: Penguin Books;
Date: Reprint edition (August 1, 2017)

Winter 1945. WWII. Four refugees. Four stories.

Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies, war. As thousands desperately flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom. But not all promises can be kept . . .

 

SALT2

Need
Joelle Charbonneau
Twitter
Instagram
Age Range: 12 and up
Grade Level: 7 – 9
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers;
Date: Reprint edition (April 4, 2017)

Teenagers at Wisconsin’s Nottawa High School are drawn deeper into a social networking site that promises to grant their every need . . . regardless of the consequences. Soon the site turns sinister, with simple pranks escalating to malicious crimes. The body count rises. In this chilling YA thriller, the author of the best-selling Testing trilogy examines not only the dark side of social media, but the dark side of human nature.

I found this gem

So while I was at my local library this past weekend..I stumbled upon a book called Vampire Girl by Karpov Kinrade.  The cover jumped out at me and told me to take me home to read me.   So I did.  Before I read that book, I ended up reading “James and the Giant Peach” by R. Dahl because my oldest child had to read it so I wanted to be on the same wavelength with him.  (A Mama’s job is never-ending!)    After I finished James book, I then turned to Vampire Girl to read the first few pages and I was hooked!  I  could not put the damn book down.  I wanted to know what was going to happen to Arianna.  So far so good.  I finished the first book in a day and ended up going back to the library to grab the new three.   I haven’t gotten that far yet due to Daylights Saving Times and kids adjusting.

What is Vampire Girl about:

“From USA TODAY bestselling author, Karpov Kinrade, comes a new series that will suck you in and leave you wanting more. For fans of Twilight, A Shade of Vampire, and Outlander comes a fantasy romance with an original twist on an old tale. You think the only threat is other humans. It’s not.

Monsters are real. Demons are real. Vampires are real.

And I’m about to become one of them.

My name is Arianna Spero. I was an ordinary girl, living an ordinary life, until my mother lapsed into a coma. Now, I am her only hope. She made a deal with the devil, and on my eighteenth birthday he came to collect. But there’s a way to save her. There’s something the princes of hell want more than my mother.

Me.

So I signed my soul away and promised to pick a prince to marry. I would take the blood oath, become one of them, and give them an heir. I would become a princess of hell, and my mother would live.

I expected fire and brimstone. I expected pain and misery. I didn’t expect beauty. I didn’t expect magic.

I didn’t expect love.

But the princes are keeping secrets from me.

Secrets that could shatter everything.”

VG.jpg

Take a peek at the authors...I will keep you updated on what happens next.   I am still reading Meg Cabot book too.  Hopefully I can keep track of them both!  More to come soon.

 

 

 

Saints and Misfits

SaintsnMisfits

Saints and Misfits Hardcover –  by S. K. Ali
June 13, 2017
336 pages
Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

 

There are three kinds of people in my world:

1. Saints, those special people moving the world forward. Sometimes you glaze over them. Or, at least, I do. They’re in your face so much, you can’t see them, like how you can’t see your nose.

2. Misfits, people who don’t belong. Like me–the way I don’t fit into Dad’s brand-new family or in the leftover one composed of Mom and my older brother, Mama’s-Boy-Muhammad.

Also, there’s Jeremy and me. Misfits. Because although, alliteratively speaking, Janna and Jeremy sound good together, we don’t go together. Same planet, different worlds.

But sometimes worlds collide and beautiful things happen, right?

3. Monsters. Well, monsters wearing saint masks, like in Flannery O’Connor’s stories.

Like the monster at my mosque.

People think he’s holy, untouchable, but nobody has seen under the mask.

Except me.

I spy this book today at work.  The cover was interesting so I looked it up to see what it was all about.  I may read this down the road.  

I Spy Youth Books today

 

Christmas Genie by Dan Gutman

CHRISTMASGENIE

It’s the last day of school before Christmas vacation and Alex, Chase, and the rest of Mrs. Walter’s fifth-grade class couldn’t wish more for that final bell to ring.

But the day takes a crazy turn when a mysterious meteorite crashes through their classroom window and a genie pops out. He will grant just one wish for the whole class to share. Be careful what you wish for!

Dragon Masters by Tracey West and Graham Howells

DragonMasters.png

This series is part of Scholastic’s early chapter book line called Branches, which is aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina. Branches books help readers grow!

DRAGON MASTERS has it all! Dragons, a Dragon Stone, a king, a wizard, and magic! In the first book in this fully-illustrated series, 8-year old Drake is snatched up by King Roland’s soldier and taken to the castle. He is to be trained as a Dragon Master. At the castle, he is joined by three other young Dragon Masters-in-training: Ana, Rori, and Bo. The Dragon Masters must learn how to connect with and train their dragons–and they must also uncover their dragons’ special powers. Does Drake have what it takes to be a Dragon Master? What is his dragon’s special power?

All Paws on Deck (Haggis and Tank Unleashed) by Jessica Young

ALLPAwsTank is a clumsy, outgoing Great Dane. Haggis is a dapper and grumpy Scottie dog. In the first book in the series, Haggis and Tank set sail as pirates. At first, Haggis doesn’t see what Tank does–that an adventure awaits them with just a little imagination! But soon, Haggis joins in the fun and the two friends go on a pirate adventure. They talk like pirates, swab the deck, and even search for buried treasure. This series is full of clever wordplay and homophones that make Haggis and Tank’s adventures even more fun!

Suitcase of Stars  by Pierdomenico Baccalario

Enchanted

Have you heard of Cinderella’s glass slipper? What about Sinbad the Sailor’s Flying Carpet? In this world, there are many magical items—but only one place where they’re safe: the Enchanted Emporium. For centuries, seven families have competed for ownership of the Emporium—and some of them are willing to do whatever it takes to get their hands on the powerful items housed within. Only Aiby Lily and her friend Finley have what it takes to stop the Emporium from falling into the wrong hands.

So these are the books that I spied today!  Take your time to check them out!  They all look interesting to me and I wonder if my children would read them.

Seeing Cinderella Review


Disclaimer: I bought this book to read to give it an honest opinion!



Seeing Cinderella

Author: Jenny Lundquist
Pages: 240
Publisher: Aladdin Mix
Publisher Date: March 20, 2012

Overview:
Sixth grade is not going well for Calliope Meadow Anderson. Callie’s hair is frizzy, her best friend, Ellen, is acting weird, and to top things off, she has to get glasses. And her new specs aren’t even cute, trendy glasses—more like hideously large and geeky. But Callie soon discovers that her glasses have a special, magical perk: When she wears them, she can read people’s thoughts. Crazy glasses aside, Callie has more drama to face when she’s cast as the lead in the school play—and instead opts to be an understudy, giving the role of Cinderella to Ellen. Can Callie’s magic glasses help her see her way to leading lady, or is she destined to stay in the background forever?

My Review:
I love the cover of this book! The story was even more amazing. It’s an adorable and quick read!

Callie learns to figure things out when she gets those glasses! Seeing people’s true thoughts is not all that’s cracked up to be. She has to learn how to deal with the power behind the glasses and that everyone is not who they say they are. Callie has lots of things to deal with: her parents, a new friend in the works who’s from another country, a boy she has a crush on and an old friend who may not be that nice and feeling like an outcast or dork. Junior high can be a tough time.

As Callie continues to wear glasses, she has her ups and downs with it. She eventually learns to live without the glasses. She goes on a path of gaining some confidence. Callie is a real character! It’s just a great story with a great values in it.

Cover Rating: B
Story Rating: A

Facebook
Good Reads
Twitter
Website