Posted in book review, E-Arc, magic, review, supernatural, werewolves, witch

E-Arc Review: How to Help a Hungry Werewolf

I received an E-Arc from Netgalley and the publisher for an honest review!

Author: Charlotte Stein
Pages: 368
Date: October 1, 2024
Publisher: Macmillan
Genre: Supernatural/Romance/Adventure
Instagram


Summary:
When Cassandra Camberwell returns to her hometown of Hollow Brook to clear out her late grandmother’s ramshackle old house, the last thing she expects is Seth Brubaker on her doorstep. Her former best friend was responsible for the worst moment of her high school life, and she can’t imagine he wants to do anything but torment her all over again.

Until she unearths the real reason this annoyingly gorgeous beast of a man keeps hanging around: he’s an actual werewolf, who’s certain she’s the witch that will ease his suffering. But Cassie just isn’t sure if she can trust him again. So Seth offers a pact: he’ll teach her all about her undiscovered magic, and she will brew the potions he needs. No feelings, no funny business, just a witch and a werewolf striking a deal.

Totally doable. Until they get hit with a do-or-die mating bond. And now the heat is rising, in between fights with formers bullies and encounters with talking raccoons. They just have to not give in. Unless giving in just might be the very thing they never knew they always wanted.

My Review:
I rarely read werewolves stories but I gave this one a go because my inner voice told me to do it and I am so glad I did. The story was hit the mark on friendship being great at one point then not then slowly turns back into a friendship again but with more emotions.

I will say I think there are some trigger warnings in this book that could be offended by some. There are spicy bits in the book and um..some dirty talk. Just letting you all know. If these things trigger you then this book may not be for you.

Friendship we all know is great but sometimes it can be hit with something had and never can bounce back. That is what I think Cassandra felt. I could see she was holding on to the anger of what had happened with her friend Seth but at the same time (as the story goes on) she learns to let go of that anger. There are lots of things happening in the story but to me it what I felt was that it was focused on Cassandra and Seth.

What I liked about this story is the supernatural/magic elements which was a different take (Goblin marbles, fairies, Pod, and more) the banter and connection between Seth and Cassandra, Cassandra learning about herself and growing strong from within, the adventures these two characters went on and the communication where they took the time to deep dive in it.

I would say the book felt sweet and sexy at the same time. It was almost like a build up to the sexy with magic being involved. I will admit I did think of the one episode of from Buffy the Vampire Slayer where Buffy and Riley got trapped in a loop of magic that was related to spicy time and wondered if that was the same concept for Seth and Cassandra. You’ll have to read to find out.




Author:

This blog will be about books. Who does not like books? I have always loved books. Reading allows you to travel to whole new worlds. Everyone should read. I will cover whatever books captures my attention and share it with the world. Books, stories, and libraries are amazing!