The Sidekicks



Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Date: October 17, 2017

Ryan, Harley and Miles are very different people—the swimmer, the rebel and the nerd. All they’ve ever had in common is Isaac, their shared best friend.

When Isaac dies unexpectedly, the three boys must come to terms with their grief and the impact Isaac had on each of their lives. In his absence, Ryan, Harley and Miles discover things about one another they never saw before, and realize there may be more tying them together than just Isaac.

In this intricately woven story told in three parts, award-winning Australian author Will Kostakis makes his American debut with a heartwarming, masterfully written novel about grief, self-discovery and the connections that tie us all together.

I think this book looks great. It’s a book of dealing with life, themselves and others.  Self-discovery is important!   It kind of reminds me of The Outsiders in a way and The Breakfast Club (the movie) we are different and yet on the same path.  I have not read this book yet but I think I will eventually.  


Action and a whole new world….


Series: New Series
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Amulet Books
Date: August 8, 2017

The struggle to get into a top-tier college consumes sixteen-year-old Genie’s every waking thought. But when she discovers she’s a celestial spirit who’s powerful enough to bash through the gates of heaven with her fists, her perfectionist existence is shattered.

Enter Quentin, a transfer student from China whose tone-deaf assertiveness beguiles Genie to the brink of madness. Quentin nurtures Genie’s outrageous transformation—sometimes gently, sometimes aggressively—as her sleepy suburb in the Bay Area comes under siege from hell-spawn.

This epic YA debut draws from Chinese folklore, features a larger-than-life heroine, and perfectly balances the realities of Genie’s grounded high school life with the absurd supernatural world she finds herself commanding.


Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Razorbill
Date: October 31, 2017

In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life.

Well….let’s jump into new worlds and explore these books.  Who’s ready for some adventure and tackle some beasts?   I’m pretty sure these books would be a fun to read.   If you like demons, action and battles, then I think these books may be for you.   The covers are stunning because the colors just pop out at you.  I think these covers also let your imagine run wild to tie in with the stories.   

The Wedding Date


Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Berkley
Date: January 30, 2018

A groomsman and his last-minute guest are about to discover if a fake date can go the distance in this fun and flirty multicultural romance debut.

Agreeing to go to a wedding with a guy she gets stuck with in an elevator is something Alexa Monroe wouldn’t normally do. But there’s something about Drew Nichols that’s too hard to resist.

On the eve of his ex’s wedding festivities, Drew is minus a plus one. Until a power outage strands him with the perfect candidate for a fake girlfriend…

After Alexa and Drew have more fun than they ever thought possible, Drew has to fly back to Los Angeles and his job as a pediatric surgeon, and Alexa heads home to Berkeley, where she’s the mayor’s chief of staff. Too bad they can’t stop thinking about the other…

They’re just two high-powered professionals on a collision course toward the long distance dating disaster of the century–or closing the gap between what they think they need and what they truly want…

This cover caught my eye…(All the covers I post are going to catch my eye!)  This one only had three colors: red, black and white.  It popped out at me and said pick me up.  Sadly I did not take it home with me as I just looked it over a bit and thought hey this is cool.   It looks like a fun, cute, charming, warm romance book.  This book could make you escape reality?   Who’s gonna give this book a go?   

Well That Was Awkard


Age Range: 10 and up
Grade Level: 5 – 6
Paperback: 336 pages
Publisher: Puffin Books; Reprint edition (February 27, 2018)

Gracie has never felt like this before.  One day, she suddenly can’t breathe, can’t walk, can’t anything—and the reason is standing right there in front of her, all tall and weirdly good-looking: A.J.

 But it turns out A.J. likes not Gracie but Gracie’s beautiful best friend, Sienna. Obviously Gracie is happy for Sienna. Super happy! She helps Sienna compose the best texts, responding to A.J.’s surprisingly funny and appealing texts, just as if she were Sienna. Because Gracie is fine. Always! She’s had lots of practice being the sidekick, second-best.

It’s all good. Well, almost all. She’s trying.

Funny and tender, Well, That Was Awkward goes deep into the heart of middle school, and  finds that even with all the heartbreak, there can be explosions of hope and moments of perfect happiness.


So I saw this book on the cart and picked it up reading what it was all about.  I thought to myself this could be a book that I would have read if I was in middle school.  (If we go back in time I was mostly into ghost stories and vampires and historical books…I still read those!  Anyways…)    I thought this book might help middle age kids understand that everyone tries.  We all are trying in life and doing the best we can.   

Perhaps someone out there will read this book!  Maybe I should put this in my to read pile. I do like the title and the book cover is eye catching!  It’s modern and hip in  way.    Let me know what you think of this book. 

I found this gem

So while I was at my local library this past weekend..I stumbled upon a book called Vampire Girl by Karpov Kinrade.  The cover jumped out at me and told me to take me home to read me.   So I did.  Before I read that book, I ended up reading “James and the Giant Peach” by R. Dahl because my oldest child had to read it so I wanted to be on the same wavelength with him.  (A Mama’s job is never-ending!)    After I finished James book, I then turned to Vampire Girl to read the first few pages and I was hooked!  I  could not put the damn book down.  I wanted to know what was going to happen to Arianna.  So far so good.  I finished the first book in a day and ended up going back to the library to grab the new three.   I haven’t gotten that far yet due to Daylights Saving Times and kids adjusting.

What is Vampire Girl about:

“From USA TODAY bestselling author, Karpov Kinrade, comes a new series that will suck you in and leave you wanting more. For fans of Twilight, A Shade of Vampire, and Outlander comes a fantasy romance with an original twist on an old tale. You think the only threat is other humans. It’s not.

Monsters are real. Demons are real. Vampires are real.

And I’m about to become one of them.

My name is Arianna Spero. I was an ordinary girl, living an ordinary life, until my mother lapsed into a coma. Now, I am her only hope. She made a deal with the devil, and on my eighteenth birthday he came to collect. But there’s a way to save her. There’s something the princes of hell want more than my mother.


So I signed my soul away and promised to pick a prince to marry. I would take the blood oath, become one of them, and give them an heir. I would become a princess of hell, and my mother would live.

I expected fire and brimstone. I expected pain and misery. I didn’t expect beauty. I didn’t expect magic.

I didn’t expect love.

But the princes are keeping secrets from me.

Secrets that could shatter everything.”


Take a peek at the authors...I will keep you updated on what happens next.   I am still reading Meg Cabot book too.  Hopefully I can keep track of them both!  More to come soon.